For any Git remote repo, you can undo (delete from git history) previous commits to eliminate huge or wrong files via
If you only
git revert, this leaves the big mess inside the
.git directory, slowing down operations and wasting space.
Erase previous git commits
Before attempting recovery, copy your project to a remote backup location e.g. Dropbox.
Assuming it’s the last commit and push you want to delete from the Git history:
git reset --hard HEAD^ git push --force
Any time the
git --force option is used, work can be permanently and irrecoverably lost, so always use care.
Reapply desired commit work
Copy / Meld any files from the old repo and make a new commit/push in the new repo. Every other computer with a copy of this repo will need to:
- make a backup copy of their local repo, if they did any work that needs to be saved
git clonethe repo again and likewise copy or meld their changes back in.
Yes, they could
git reset, but they might erase their work in that repo, if any.
Git remote write permissions
Implicit in this procedure is that those with write access to the remote Git repo can overwrite history, potentially causing permanent file loss. Remember that Git is a revision tracking system, NOT a backup system. You can use Dropbox as a Git backup for example.
Restrict Git remote write access
For GitHub, from the repo branches Settings page, Add Rules according to your needs.